Login
Recover password
Registration

Members can log in to create events, publish stories, share resources and modify their password and newsletter subscription.

E-mail *
First name *
Last name *
Language preference *
Newsletter options *

By clicking below to submit this form, I hereby agree to the Sphere’s Privacy Policy and terms of use.

Loading Events

  • This event has passed.

Apr

07

Community engagement vs. the Coronavirus

April 7, 2020

11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Free

Event Type: Public Event Categories: , Sphere Content: Sphere Focus

Event Type: Public
Event Categories: ,
Sphere Content: Sphere Focus

ASB-Coronavirus-webinar copy
EVENT DETAILS

Registration Deadline

April 6, 2020

Venue

Online

Website

https://ee.humanitarianresponse.info/x/#evoUsbwj

ROLES

Guest Speaker

Dr Daniel Peter
Eba Pasha
Abner Manlapaz

Host

Axel Schmidt
Aninia Nadig
Tristan Hale

The webinar presentations are available at bit.ly/CE-covid-presentations.


 

FREE WEBINAR, Tuesday 7 April, 2020

Live captions and signing will be provided for this event.

We are all affected by the global Covid-19 pandemic, and we are all part of the response to it.

The Sphere Handbook articulates the importance of community engagement and guides technical response to humanitarian crises. The link between these two is apparent; even in countries with strong healthcare systems, community engagement is key to ensuring the health response is a success.

– How can we uphold the right to life with dignity for all?
– How can we engage communities and encourage active participation?
– How can we build on the capacities, and meet the needs, of higher-risk groups, including older people and people with disabilities?
– How can medical response be appropriate, community-sensitive, and relevant to people’s needs?
– How can we avoid misinformation, stigmatisation and fear?

To discuss these questions and more, Sphere and Arbeiter Samariter-Bund (ASB) are pleased to present the following panel of health, hygiene and inclusion experts:

corona-webinar-eba

Eba Pasha is a public health in emergencies specialist and medical doctor with over 15 years’ experience working in humanitarian crises, health emergencies, health systems strengthening and coordination in fragile, conflict or low-income countries. She has technical expertise in minimum standards in humanitarian response, qualitative and quantitative research, monitoring and evaluation. Eba is one of the authors of the Health chapter of the 2018 Sphere Handbook, and drafted The Sphere standards and the Coronavirus response.

 

corona-webinar-daniel

Dr Daniel Peter is a medical doctor specialized in infection prevention and control (IPC). He works as a senior physician in a tertiary care hospital in Cologne, Germany and is the medical advisor of ASB Germany’s Type 1 EMT. Daniel Peter has worked as physician and project manager in a Health Centre in the Amazon Region of Peru and has been on disaster response missions in the Philippines, Northern Iraq and Mozambique. Currently, he is responsible for the development of ASB’s specialized IPC cell, which was in parts conceptualized and pilot-tested in Zambia 2018/2019 and first deployed in ASB’s response to IDAI in Mozambique. Recently, he has led a mission to Mongolia to support the country’s efforts to prepare its health care system for COVID-19 cases alongside with the Mongolian MoH, the National Centre for Communicable Diseases (NCCD) and the WHO. Daniel is deputy medical head of operations at his hospital in Cologne, co-managing the institution’s preparedness and handling of the COVID-19 epidemic.

corona-webinar-abner

Abner Manlapaz has been involved in the field of disability since 1991. He is currently the president of the Life HavenCenter for Independent Living, a Disabled Persons’ Organization (DPO) based in Manila. He is also a member of various federations and networks that advocate for the rights of persons with disabilities and a member of Committees working on poverty reduction, accessibility and social protection. He has been involved in numerous projects working with JICA, Australian Aid, the World Bank, NGOs and the Philippines Institute for Development Studies, providing disability inclusion trainings, advisory services on surveys involving persons with disabilities and reviewing topical legislative documents.

During this interactive webinar, you will have the chance to connect with other humanitarian actors around the globe. Our experts will also answer some of your questions; please use the space in the registration form to tell us what you would like to learn.

If you previously registered for this event (with any valid e-mail address) in its original slot on Saturday 28 March, you do not need to register again. We will send joining instructions to registered participants shortly before the event starts.

Any questions? Please contact Sphere at learning@spherestandards.org.

Regarding the webinar, please be patient as this might be a new format for some. Use a headset and a camera if you have them. Try to find a quiet place. ZOOM also works on your smartphone using a free app.

Event times where you are:
– London, Dublin (UTC): 10am to 12pm
– Brussels, Copenhagen, Madrid, Paris (UTC+1): 11am to 1pm
– Beirut, Athens, Harare (UTC+2): 12pm to 2pm
– Moscow, Nairobi, Istanbul (UTC+3): 1pm to 3pm
– Abu Dhabi, Tbilisi (UTC+4): 2pm to 4pm
– Islamabad, Karachi (UTC+5): 3pm to 5pm
– Dhaka, Astana (UTC+6): 4pm to 6pm
– Bangkok, Jakarta, Hanoi (UTC+7): 5pm to 7pm
– Beijing, Kuala Lumpur, Singapore (UTC+8), : 6pm to 8pm

EVENT DETAILS

Registration Deadline

April 6, 2020

Venue

Online

Website

https://ee.humanitarianresponse.info/x/#evoUsbwj

ROLES

Guest Speaker

Dr Daniel Peter
Eba Pasha
Abner Manlapaz

Host

Axel Schmidt
Aninia Nadig
Tristan Hale