Login
Recover password
Registration

Members can log in to create events, publish stories, share resources and modify their password and newsletter subscription.

E-mail *
First name *
Last name *
Language preference *
Newsletter options *

By clicking below to submit this form, I hereby agree to the Sphere’s Privacy Policy and terms of use.

Loading Events

Nov

30

The State of Protection in the COVID-19 Era, Online, Nov 2020

November 30, 2020

6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Event Type: Public Event Category: Sphere Content: No Sphere Content

Event Type: Public
Event Category:
Sphere Content: No Sphere Content

the-state-of-protection-in-the-covid-19-era-online-nov-2020
EVENT DETAILS

Registration Deadline

November 30, 2020

Venue

Online

Website

https://phap.org/30Nov2020

ROLES

Lead Facilitator

Ambassador Manuel Bessler

Guest Speaker

Gillian Triggs
Jan Egeland
Cecilia Jimenez-Damary
Mayerlín Vergara Pérez
William Chemaly

Read more and register at https://phap.org/30Nov2020

In the margins of the public health and economic crises with which the world has contended through 2020, COVID-19 ultimately looms as a long-term, far-reaching global protection emergency. Where some of the world’s best-resourced countries have tracked a staggering increase in demand for protection services, people in nations with pre-existing humanitarian crises are grappling with unprecedented compound protection threats and even fewer resources to help mitigate them.

Protection Clusters are reporting heightened risks of forced displacement, a rise in xenophobia and stigmatization, a dramatic increase in gender-based violence, and discrimination in access to health, food, water, education, and legal services for vulnerable and marginalized groups. The largest economic shock the world has experienced in decades is not and will not be felt equally; countries, communities, and individuals at greatest risk must have enhanced access to protection services.

Together with the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, the Global Protection Cluster, and with support from PHAP, the Norwegian Refugee Council is bringing together a High-Level Panel to reflect on the state of protection in the COVID-19 era. The event will draw on findings from a new NRC-Global Protection Cluster report on the current state of play in protection financing, and bring to a close the Global Protection Forum.

This event will present a critical discussion on the place of protection within humanitarian response and the commitments needed across the humanitarian community to address major needs and challenges in 2021 and beyond.

Event time
Monday, 30 November 2020

New York: 12:00 – 14:00
Bogota: 12:00 – 14:00
London: 17:00 – 19:00
Geneva: 18:00 – 20:00
Amman: 19:00 – 21:00
Nairobi: 20:00 – 22:00
Bangkok: 00:00 – 02:00
Manila: 01:00 – 03:00

EVENT DETAILS

Registration Deadline

November 30, 2020

Venue

Online

Website

https://phap.org/30Nov2020

ROLES

Lead Facilitator

Ambassador Manuel Bessler

Guest Speaker

Gillian Triggs
Jan Egeland
Cecilia Jimenez-Damary
Mayerlín Vergara Pérez
William Chemaly