Login
Recover password
Registration

Members can log in to create events, publish stories, share resources and modify their password and newsletter subscription.

E-mail *
First name *
Last name *
Language preference *
Newsletter options *

By clicking below to submit this form, I hereby agree to the Sphere’s Privacy Policy and terms of use.

Loading Events

  • This event has passed.

Mar

11

Data simplified. Protection amplified. An essential conversation for CVA practitioners

March 11, 2021

3:00 PM - 4:30 PM

Event Type: Public Event Categories: , Sphere Content: Some Sphere Content

Event Type: Public
Sphere Content: Some Sphere Content

 


REGISTER HERE


Background  

As humanitarian aid becomes increasingly remote and digitized in the pandemic, and data is both a commodity and a weapon, how do we protect those we aim to help? More than ever, data must be treated as an extension of the individual and as an essential part of humanitarian protection. As cash and voucher assistance continues to grow, both in the humanitarian and social protection spaces, and we increasingly work with private sector partners and governments to deliver, we must ensure that data is responsibly managed to avoid harm. Through the Grand Bargain Cash and Risk sub-workstream, many organizations report they find the situation ‘paralysing,’ resulting in limited learning and action across the humanitarian system.  

CaLP’s “Data Responsibility Toolkit: A Guide for CVA Practitioners” builds on and updates previous guidance1 to account for GDPR and the very rapidly evolving data ecosystem. On 11 March, CaLP, the ICT4D Conference and the Grand Bargain Cash and Risk sub-workstream aim to bring together humanitarian practitioners in a dynamic discussion to call for action and plan for future data challenges.  

This event will include simultaneous interpretation in Arabic, French and Spanish.
To access the information in other languages, please select the language in the top right corner of the webpage.

Speakers 

Opening remarks 

  • Anissa Toscano, Vice President, Humanitarian Leadership and Response, Mercy Corps 

Session 1: Introducing and applying the guidance 

  • Stuart Campo, Team Lead for Data Responsibility, OCHA Centre for Humanitarian Data 
  • Linda Raftree, consultant 
  • Joseph Oliveros, Senior Officer, Cash Transfer Programming Innovations, IFRC

Session 2: Ethical and pragmatic approaches to data management  

  • Wael Darwish, Chief of Party, Cash Consortium Yemen 
  • Han Sheng Chia, Director, Special Projects, GiveDirectly
  • Ana Maria Prieto, Deputy Director, Unit of Financial Regulations, Ministry of Finance of Colombia.

Date: Thursday, 11 March 2021 

Time: 8 am Guatemala City, 9 am Washington, DC/2 pm London/3 pm Geneva/4 pm Amman/ 5 pm Nairobi/9 pm Bangkok  

Confirm your time here for 9 am UTC-5 

Length: 90 min