Login
Recover password
Registration

Members can log in to create events, publish stories, share resources and modify their password and newsletter subscription.

E-mail *
First name *
Last name *
Language preference *
Newsletter options *

By clicking below to submit this form, I hereby agree to the Sphere’s Privacy Policy and terms of use.

Loading Events

  • This event has passed.

Nov

20

Creating inclusive cities in South Africa amidst COVID-19, Online, 20 Nov 2020

November 20, 2020

9:00 AM - 10:30 AM

Event Type: Public Event Category: Sphere Content: No Sphere Content

Event Type: Public
Event Category:
Sphere Content: No Sphere Content

creating-inclusive-cities-in-south-africa-amidst-covid-19-online-20-nov-2020
EVENT DETAILS

Registration Deadline

November 20, 2020

Venue

Online

Website

https://phap.org/20nov2020

ROLES

Read more and register at https://phap.org/20nov2020

The UN Secretary General’s Policy Brief on COVID-19 in an Urban World reckons that urban areas are at the epicentre of the pandemic, accounting for an estimated 90 per cent of cases. Overcrowding and urban areas with poor infrastructure and housing or weak local governance leads to higher virus transmission.

Solutions start at the local level which is why cities and local communities are uniquely placed to protect and support displaced people. The Global Compact on Refugees recognizes the crucial role mayors and local authorities play as first responders, a role even more critical now when we are all faced with the threat of the COVID-19 pandemic. Providing shelter, health care, food and assistance are how a number of cities in South Africa are helping those forcibly displaced to cope through the pandemic.

Join us for a conversation between UCLG Africa, UNHCR, a refugee representative, and city authorities to discuss the commitment to create inclusive cities despite the challenges that COVID-19 presents on 20 November 2020 from 10:00-11:30 am South African Standard Time (SAST).

Event time
Friday, 20 November 2020

New York: 03:00 – 04:30
London: 08:00 – 09:30
Geneva: 09:00 – 10:30
Johannesburg: 10:00 – 11:30
Amman: 10:00 – 11:30
Nairobi: 11:00 – 12:30
Bangkok: 15:00 – 16:30
Manila: 16:00 – 17:30

EVENT DETAILS

Registration Deadline

November 20, 2020

Venue

Online

Website

https://phap.org/20nov2020

ROLES