Login
Recover password
Registration

Members can log in to create events, publish stories, share resources and modify their password and newsletter subscription.

E-mail *
First name *
Last name *
Language preference *
Newsletter options *

By clicking below to submit this form, I hereby agree to the Sphere’s Privacy Policy and terms of use.

Loading Events

Oct

28

Palliative care and COVID-19. Challenges for the humanitarian sector

October 28, 2020

1:00 PM - 2:30 PM

Event Type: Public Event Categories: , Sphere Content: Sphere Focus

Event Type: Public
Sphere Content: Sphere Focus

EVENT DETAILS

Registration Deadline

October 28, 2020

Venue

Online

Website

https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJwqc-yupz8jGtS7Hl3QXw62YeOXDxdsHEOR

ROLES

Host

Sphere

More information on the agenda and speakers will become available soon!

 

28 October 2020
8am New York | 9am Buenos Aires | 1pm Geneva | 3pm Amman | 5:30pm New Delhi

 


REGISTER NOW


 

Sphere is hosting a series of webinars to share good practice and technical guidance on humanitarian standards in the COVID-19 response. This webinar explores the importance of providing palliative care services in the framework of a COVID-19 response.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, many people have died in isolation, a situation that runs counter to the ethical belief that people have the right to a dignified death. Palliative care – the prevention and relief of suffering and distress associated with end-of-life illness – is no less important than other humanitarian actions. The COVID-19 pandemic clearly poses new challenges for the humanitarian sector, but we must not try to start from scratch: a new crisis doesn’t necessarily require new humanitarian standards, but rather the understanding and application of existing ones.

The event will be delivered in English with simultaneous interpretation into Arabic, French and Spanish. We strive to make this webinar accessible to people with visual or hearing impairments (please let us know about your requirements through the registration form).

 

Webinar objectives

  1. Highlight the importance of palliative care in humanitarian response;
  2. Situate the palliative care standard in the Sphere Handbook and highlight its role in living up to Sphere’s values and principles;
  3. Explain the challenges in integrating palliative care as part of humanitarian response and means to overcome them;
  4. Present examples of the provision of palliative care in precarious situations and highlight the support provided by the Sphere standard;
  5. Invite a discussion to solicit further positive examples and challenges and to promote further learning.

 

This project is funded by the H2H Network’s “H2H Fund”, which is supported by UK Aid from the UK government.

EVENT DETAILS

Registration Deadline

October 28, 2020

Venue

Online

Website

https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJwqc-yupz8jGtS7Hl3QXw62YeOXDxdsHEOR

ROLES

Host

Sphere