المعايير الدنيا للانتعاش الاقتصادي يقودها الآن اسفير وشراكة المعايير الإنسانية

Share via Facebook Share via LinkedIn Share via Twitter

بقلم سارة جيه وارد، سبل العيش والانتعاش الاقتصادي في أوقات الأزمات

19 يناير 2024: أخبار مهمة للمعايير الإنسانية العالمية:  وجدت المعايير الدنيا للانتعاش الاقتصادي، المعروفة باسم “ميرس” (MERS) ، موطنًا جديدًا في شبكة اسفير ولا تزال في شراكة المعايير الإنسانية.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن “ميرس”، التي نشأت في عام 2007 من خلال تمويل من الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية وبتيسير من “شبكة التوعية بالمشاريع الصغيرة وترويجها” ( SEEP)، توفر المعايير والمؤشرات والإجراءات الرئيسية والإرشادات والموارد للبرمجة الإنسانية الواعية بالسوق وتطوير أنظمة السوق في سياقات الطوارئ. وقد تم تطوير النسخة الثالثة من معايير ميرس من خلال الجهود المشتركة لأكثر من 90 وكالة و175ممارسًا، حيث تقدم نهجًا متعدد القطاعات لسد الفجوة اللغوية والبرامجية بين الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية والإنمائية. وتحافظ النسختان التشاركيتان اللتين قادهما ممارسون منذ البداية على أهميتهما في عالم متغيّر.

واستجابة للانهيار المؤسف لشبكة “سيب” في عام 2021، اتخذت اللجنة الاستشارية لمميرس إجراءات حاسمة لحماية هذه المعايير المهمة. وقد حددت عملية الاختيار اسفير كأفضل مستضيف جديد لميرس، بما يتماشى مع التزام اسفير بالمعايير الإنسانية وانتشاره الواسع في مجتمع المساعدة الإنسانية العالمي.

The MERS AC show their palms to represent handing the MERS to Sphere during an online meeting on 24 January 2024

أعضاء اللجنة الاستشارية لميرس يظهرون أكفهم في إشارة إلى تسليم ميرس إلى اسفير خلال اجتماع عقد عبر الإنترنت في 24 يناير 2024.

التكامل الاستراتيجي: سيستفيد ميرس، التي يشرف عليها اسفير الآن، من منظومة عمل ديناميكية تعزّز المعايير والممارسات الإنسانية. وستضطلع شراكة المعايير الإنسانية، التي يستضيفها اسفير، بدورٍ محوري في الإشراف على ميرس وتطويرها. وتهدف هذه الخطوة الاستراتيجية إلى تعزيز أوجه التآزر بين معايير ميرس، واسفير، والمعايير الأخرى لشراكة المعايير الإنسانية (HSP مما يوفر إطارًا موحدًا للجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية على مستوى العالم.

لماذا هذه الخطوة مهمة:

  1. تكامل أفضل: بقيادة شبكة اسفير واستضافته لها، ستواصل ميرس تقديم وجهات نظر وإرشادات مهمة بشأن أنظمة السوق في العمل الإنساني. وسيتم زيادة التكامل والتنسيق بين معايير اسفير ومعايير ميرس، بما يضمن جودة البرامج القائمة على السوق في جميع القطاعات ذات الصلة بالمجتمعات التي تواجه الأزمات.

  2. الوصول إلى المزيد من الناس: شبكة اسفير واسعة ومتجذرة داخل المجتمع الإنساني العالمي. ومن ثم فإن من شأن التعاون مع اسفير أن يجعل ميرس تصل إلى عدد أكبر من الناس، ومما يشجع التعاون وتبادل المعرفة بين المجموعات المختلفة.

  3. مساعدة المجتمعات المحلية: تدعم هذه الخطوة فكرة العمل بشكل أكبر مع المجتمعات المحلية أثناء العمل الإنساني. إذ يمكن لميرس، كونها أصبحت الآن جزءًا من شبكة اسفير، أن تستهدف المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية والجماعات المجتمعية بشكل أفضل، ومن ثم مساعدتهم على تطبيق المعايير والأدوات المستهدفة لتقديم استجابات إنسانية واعية ومدركة بأوضاع السوق.

المبادرات الرئيسية: على المدى القصير، ستعمل اللجنة الاستشارية لميرس واسفير وشراكة المعايير الإنسانية معًا لدمج مجتمعات الممارسين وتعزيز الشراكات مع الأطراف المعنية الرئيسية مثل منتدى “الأسواق في أوقات الأزمات” (MiC) ومبادرة الاعتماد على الذات للاجئين (RSRI). على المدى المتوسط، تشمل المخرجات المرجوة دمج ميرس في برامج التدريب الخاصة باسفير/شراكة المعايير الإنسانية، وربط الدليل التفاعلي بمجتمع ممارسي منتدى “الأسواق في أوقات الأزمات”.

يسعدنا انضمام ميرس إلينا في اسفير وشراكة المعايير الإنسانية. هذا التعاون الرسمي يُثبت التزام اسفير بالعمل الإنساني القائم على المبادئ والمعايير الدنيا“.
وليام أندرسون، المدير التنفيذي، اسفير

 

إن التزام اسفير بالمعايير الإنسانية يجعله الوصي المثالي لضمان عمل الأدلة الإرشادية لميرس واسفير معًا بشكل أفضل، مما يتيح للمجتمع الإنساني دعم الانتعاش الاقتصادي للأشخاص المتضررين من الأزمات في جميع أنحاء العالم بشكل أفضل“.
سكوت ميريل، عضو اللجنة الاستشارية لميرس والمدير الأول لمركز تيرويليجر للابتكار في المأوى في المنظمة الدولية للموئل من أجل البشرية

وفي ظل عثور ميرس على مقر جديد داخل اسفير، يتوقع المجتمع الإنساني تحولًا إيجابيًا في جهود التعافي الاقتصادي. فهذا التكامل يعد بنهج أكثر توحيدًا وشمولاً وتأثيرًا في معالجة التحديات المعقدة التي تواجهها المجتمعات التي تمر بأزمات، مما يؤكد من جديد التزام مجتمع المعونة العالمي بتقديم مساعدة عالية الجودة وفعالة لمن هم في أمس الحاجة إليها.


تعرّف على المزيد حول ميرس على موقع شراكة المعايير الإنسانية: https://hspstandards.org/ar/mers/

يمكنكم الوصول إلى دليل ميرس عبر الإنترنت من خلال الدليل التفاعلي: https://handbook.hspstandards.org/ar/mers

كما يمكنكم مشاهدة تسجيلًا عن ميرس بعنوان: مبادئ سهلة للبرمجة القائمة على السوق (ندوة عبر الإنترنت) عقدت في 8 ديسمبر 2023: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bI1jwyRwGEk

Login
Recover password
Registration

Members can log in to create events, publish stories, share resources and modify their password and newsletter subscription.

E-mail *
First name *
Last name *
Language preference *
Newsletter options *

By clicking below to submit this form, I hereby agree to the Sphere’s Privacy Policy and terms of use.

Minimum Economic Recovery Standards now led by Sphere and the Humanitarian Standards Partnership

By Sarah J Ward, Livelihoods and Economic Recovery in Crisis

Big news for global humanitarian standards: the well-known Minimum Economic Recovery Standards (MERS) has a new home in the Sphere network and remains in the Humanitarian Standards Partnership (HSP).

The MERS, born in 2007 through funding from USAID and facilitated by The SEEP Network, provides Standards, Indicators, Key Actions, Guidance and resources for market-aware humanitarian programming and market systems development (MSD) in emergency contexts. Developed through the joint efforts of over 90 agencies and 175 practitioners, the MERS 3rd Edition provides a cross-sectoral approach bridging the language and programming divide between humanitarian and development actors. Two participatory and practitioner-led revisions since their inception have maintained their relevance in a changing world.

In response to the unfortunate collapse of The SEEP Network in 2021, the MERS Advisory Committee (AC) took decisive action to safeguard these critical standards. The selection process identified Sphere as the best new host for the MERS, aligning with Sphere’s commitment to humanitarian standards and its expansive reach in the global humanitarian assistance community.

The MERS AC show their palms to represent handing the MERS to Sphere during an online meeting on 24 January 2024

MERS AC members show their palms to represent handing the MERS to Sphere during an online meeting on 24 January 2024

Strategic Integration: MERS, now under Sphere’s stewardship, will benefit from a dynamic ecosystem that promotes humanitarian standards and practices. The HSP, hosted by Sphere, will play a pivotal role in overseeing and advancing the MERS. This strategic move aims to foster synergies between the MERS, Sphere, and other HSP standards, creating a unified framework for humanitarian actors globally.

Why This Move is Big:

  1. Better Integration: Led by and homed within the Sphere network, the MERS will continue to offer critical market perspectives and guidance on market systems in humanitarian work. The Sphere Standards and the MERS will be further integrated and harmonised, making it easier to ensure quality market-based programming (MBP) across all relevant sectors for communities facing crises.
  2. Reaching More People: The Sphere network is both wide and deep within the global humanitarian community. Joining forces means that the MERS will reach even more people, encouraging collaboration and sharing knowledge among different groups.
  3. Assisting Local Groups: This move supports the idea of working more with local groups during humanitarian work. The MERS as part of the Sphere network can better target local NGOs and community groups, helping them implement targeted standards and tools to create market-aware humanitarian responses.

Key Initiatives: In the short term, the MERS Advisory Committee, Sphere and the HSP will work together to merge communities of practice and strengthen partnerships with key stakeholders like Markets in Crisis (MiC) and the Refugee Self-Reliance Initiative (RSRI). In the medium term, desirable outputs include integration of MERS into Sphere/HSP training programmes and connecting the Interactive Handbook to the MiC Community of Practice.

“We’re thrilled to have the MERS join us at Sphere and the Humanitarian Standards Partnership. This formal collaboration demonstrates Sphere’s commitment to principled humanitarian action and minimum standards.”
William Anderson, Executive Director, Sphere

 

“Sphere’s commitment to humanitarian standards makes it the ideal custodian to ensure the MERS and Sphere handbooks work better together, allowing the humanitarian community to better support the economic recovery of crisis affected people around the world.”
Scott Merrill, MERS Advisory Committee Member and Senior Director, Terwilliger Center for Innovation in Shelter at Habitat for Humanity International

As the MERS finds a new home within Sphere, the humanitarian community anticipates a positive shift in economic recovery efforts. This integration promises a more unified, inclusive, and impactful approach to addressing the complex challenges faced by communities in crisis, reaffirming the commitment of the global aid community to deliver quality and effective assistance to those most in need.


Learn more about MERS on the HSP website: https://hspstandards.org/mers/

Access the MERS online via the Interactive Handbook: https://handbook.hspstandards.org/mers

Watch a recording of MERS: Easy Principles for Market-Based Programming (webinar) from 8 December 2023: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bI1jwyRwGEk

Media enquiries: communications@spherestandards.org